Cooking story: My first Pancake

aaand..for my breakfast, today I tried Pancake. The taste was..the taste of pancake! 😀 ..but..it was just odd for me to have it as a breakfast menu. No spicies, like no onion..garlic..turmeric..ginger and chili.

But, I reminded myself that today is not Indonesian day, or Balinese day. I pretended to be like a lady who eat Pancake as her breakfast menu since she was born..and she likes it so much.

lady

So, I prepared it in 10 minutes: wheat flour, egg, vanilla sugar, salt and milk…mixed together. Then fried in 30 minutes. I used regular frying pan to fry. It took time to fry all. It was total 7 pieces (1 for the test, and the the remaining 6 were left for breakfast) and I made a stack of it.

With banana as the topping and also melted Nutella for the yummier taste.

As a beginner, I think it was ok. But took me 45 minutes to finish it all as a breakfast :D.

As I told before, it’s still strange for me to serve it as a meal. I ll make it to look and to taste better next time…and more acceptable in my tongue.

To the lady above: I am sorry lady, seems your image doesn’t work for me.

Cooking story: My first Siomay

Siomay (also Somay), is an Indonesian steamed fish dumpling with vegetables served in peanut sauce. It is derived from ChineseShumai. It is considered a light meal that is similar to the Chinese Dim Sum, but is cone shaped.

…..

Siomay is ubiquitous in Indonesian cities. It can be found in street-side foodstalls, travelling carts, bicycle vendors, and restaurants. Just like bakso, lumpia, and pempek, siomay was influenced by Chinese Indonesian cuisine. However Chinese Indonesian siomay usually served not with peanut sauce, but in sweet-sour and spicy chili sauce.

(source: Wikipedia)

It never came in my mind before to make my own siomay. In Indonesia it is easily be found in the street or in stalls or in the malls. It’s cheap too!

Then, this living abroad case made me learn. This is one of the thousands advantages I found of living overseas. I learn more than what I could imagine when I am in my comfort zone: called Home.

So in short, I prepared all the needs and guess what…it was superlicious! 😀 I made my first Siomay in Hamburg.

image2515

and..because I couldnt resist to try every time it is cooked, I eat it…and I forgot to take a snap of the result 😀

But it was kind of like this (the steamed siomay was chopped and served with sweet soya and hot tomato sauce):

siomay1

I parceled some for my friend and I got a positive compliment from her! finally there is someone who appriciated my efforts. Oh…the world is wonderful. I want to fly in the moon.. *flying*

Half of the meat, I used it to make fried Bakwan. This is the type of crispy food. I love it too..and I am having it now..while I’m typing this post. With super hot tomato sauce. Can I say I want to fly to the moon one more time, bitte.. 😉