A gift from Hamburg

IMG-20171012-WA0024

We were walking inside a forest in Hamburg. Well, I should thank Svenski for this opportunity. He asked me to join, along with his girlfriend and other friends as well. On the way, I took some stones. I was thinking of looking for a gift from Hamburg for myself which is unique and cost-less 😉 a very special one. So the stones that I was collecting were the answer. The other friends helped me too, just for fun they said.

I chose the best one among number of stones that I collected. I kept it in my room until the day I departed to Bali.

So, this is the stone that I brought home.

stein

A friend was willing to help me to cut the stone and make it ready for jewelry. I said I want to make a ring out of it and fortunately, he said he has a friend who can cut the stone.

IMG_20171012_150738

So in short he did it for me.

Later on he said “It’s not a gemstone, I can give you better ones”.  He tried many times to tell that it’s just a regular stone, no one will use it as jewelry. But I insisted. I said I like it, it is a gift from Hamburg.

For me it’s my memory of life that I spent in Hamburg. I don’t care whether it is a gemstone or not. For me, it is just priceless.

I then brought it to a market where jewelry makers are available. I asked the person to make me a ring, but then..the cut stone seemed to be too big for my finger. I then changed my mind and asked for a pendant.

kalung1

I am quite happy with the result 🙂 . A simple silver necklace, and I can wear it for everyday purpose.

Then I met a friend who is also my colleague and a jewelry maker from Celuk-Gianyar, Bali. I asked him to make the remaining stone as a ring and a pair of earrings for me. I told him that although the stone is just a regular stone that I found on the way inside the forest in Hamburg, but for me it’s something important.

Then he said “I think it’s an Amber”. And I asked “What is Amber?”. He explained that Amber is a gemstone made from very very old tree resin that turned into stone.  I was quite surprised.

I made a small check based on the info that I found on the internet. Using the torch of my mobile phone, I lighted the stone up and tadaaa..

IMG_20171012_163159

And I also found some images showing how the raw Ambers look like. Quite similar though 🙂  I am quite happy with my finding. Hehe..

20171012_153702

Though until now I am not so sure whether the stone is an Amber or not, but..so far I am happy with my new necklace. Every time I look at it, it reminds me of Hamburg.

“Hamburg ist meine Perle”

— Update—

Here are the rest of the silver jewelries made from the same stone: a pair of handmade earrings and a beautiful ring..with Balinese style of carving. A mixture between Bali and Hamburg.

gaja

And another thing is…it’s priceless…and costless.

Thank you Universe.